Impact defender Laurent Ciman named 2015 MLS Defender of the Year

MONTREAL – Major League Soccer announced on Wednesday that Impact defender Laurent Ciman has been named the 2015 MLS Defender of the Year.

“I would like to thank all the players, clubs and media for their vote,” said Ciman. “This is a great achievement to win this award, but we have to work harder to get even better next year. This is a nice individual honour, but I have to credit my teammates who were just as good.”

In his first season in the league, Ciman quickly imposed himself on the team’s backline, helping the club to its best showing in its young MLS history with 44 goals allowed this season, five less than 2013 and 14 less than last season.

The Belgian international also tallied two goals and two assists, finishing second on the team with 2,405 minutes and third with 27 starts. He also started all three games for the Impact in the MLS Cup Playoffs, registering one assist and 300 minutes.

He was selected to the 2015 MLS All-Star Game, wearing the captain’s armband during the second half against English club Tottenham Hotspur F.C. He was also named three times to the Team of the Week and six times as the Videotron mobile Player of the Game.

The award was voted on by media, MLS players and MLS club management based on regular season performance. The other two finalists were FC Dallas defender Matt Hedges and Vancouver Whitecaps FC defender Kendall Waston.

Impact striker Didier Drogba is also in contention for an league award, MLS Newcomer of the Year. The winner will be named on November 23.

2015: Laurent Ciman – Montreal Impact

2014: Chad Marshall – Seattle Sounders FC
2013: Jose Goncalves – New England Revolution
2012: Matt Besler – Sporting Kansas City
2011: Omar Gonzalez – LA Galaxy
2010: Jamison Olave – Real Salt Lake
2009: Chad Marshall – Columbus Crew
2008: Chad Marshall – Columbus Crew
2007: Michael Parkhurst – New England Revolution
2006: Bobby Boswell – D.C. United
2005: Jimmy Conrad – Kansas City Wizards
2004: Robin Fraser – Columbus Crew
2003: Carlos Bocanegra – Chicago Fire
2002: Carlos Bocanegra – Chicago Fire
2001: Jeff Agoos – San Jose Earthquakes
2000: Peter Vermes – Kansas City Wizards
1999: Robin Fraser – Los Angeles Galaxy
1998: Lubos Kubik – Chicago Fire
1997: Eddie Pope – D.C. United
1996: John Doyle – San Jose Earthquakes