CF Montréal will start its training camp on Monday

MONTREAL – CF Montréal unveiled on Friday its roster for its 2021 training camp, presented by Allstate Insurance, starting on Monday, March 1, at Complexe sportif Marie-Victorin. The full duration of the camp will be in Montreal. A total of 41 players could take part in the 2021 training camp, but some players won’t be there from the start due to their mandatory quarantine and will be allowed to join the group following the league’s reintegration health protocols.

Nine new players will be at camp: defenders Zorhan Bassong, Kamal Miller and Kiki Struna, midfielders Ahmed Hamdi, Djordje Mihailovic and Joaquín Torres, and forwards Erik Hurtado, Sunusi Ibrahim and Bjørn Johnsen.

Six Academy players will also take part in the camp: Goalkeeper Jordan Vézina (13/05/2005), defenders Lundon Durand-Browne (born 07/01/2001) and Zachary Fernandez (09/24/2001), midfielder Matthew Catavolo (02/13/2003), as well as forward Woobens Pacius (05/11/2001). Midfielder Ismael Kenneth Kone (06/16/2002), who has been training with the Academy since January, has also been invited.

“We are happy to see the Academy players continuing to show their progress and quality by getting an invitation to the first team camp,” said CF Montréal Academy Director Patrick Leduc. “Considering the difficult training conditions during the pandemic, it’s a nice show of confidence, following last year’s camp when many young players stood out.”

Midfielder Giuseppe Barone, selected 63rd in the 2021 MLS SuperDraft, should join the group for a tryout in a few weeks.

Due to the context of the pandemic, the departures of defenders Keesean Ferdinand and Karifa Yao, as well as midfielder Tomas Giraldo, who all have loan agreements with Canadian Premier League clubs, will be determined at a later date.
Goalkeepers (4): Clément Diop, James Pantemis, Jonathan Sirois, Jordan Vézina*
Defenders (13): Zorhan Bassong, Clément Bayiha, Luis Binks, Zachary Brault-Guillard, Rudy Camacho, Lundon Durand-Browne*, Keesean Ferdinand, Zachary Fernandez*, Kamal Miller, Mustafa Kizza, Kiki Struna, Joel Waterman, Karifa Yao
Midfielders (19): Jean-Aniel Assi, Giuseppe Barone^, Matthew Catavolo*, Mathieu Choinière, Tomas Giraldo, Ahmed Hamdi, Ismael Kenneth Kone^, Lassi Lappalainen, Emanuel Maciel, Djordje Mihailovic, Samuel Piette, Romell Quioto, Sean Rea, Nathan-Dylan Saliba, Amar Sejdic, Ballou Tabla, Joaquín Torres, Victor Wanyama, Rida Zouhir
Forwards (5): Erik Hurtado, Sunusi Ibrahim, Bjørn Johnsen, Woobens Pacius*, Mason Toye
*Academy players
^Players on trial